Weekly Adventure: The Snow Day

Yesterday evening just before 8PM, I was anxious to escape my nearly three hour lecture class: there’s only three students and one teacher, and we read text like we’re mining for bits of gold between the lines–closely and painstakingly. Facing away from the window and having only my computer to entertain me, I clicked on the Johns Hopkins Emergency Announcement that had been e-mailed to me.

It was going to be a snow-day the next day.

Immediately, I mentally became the little girl that used to run around in zip-off soccer pants and three layers of hoodies with some plastic rain boots and maybe a snow suit- if my mom got to me before I got myself out the door. I became the young Jenna who loved leaping into snow heaps and running around, not afraid of falling or sliding or getting hit by a stray snowball.

I was ready to get out of that class and get into the snow as soon as possible, which was already rapidly falling at around 8:30.

Of course, I am no longer 12 and my wardrobe is no longer just soccer clothes and hoodies.

I’ve advanced beyond that, and discovered a few tricks that actually allow me to both enjoy the snow and also repurpose some really cute clothes I’ve got–keeping myself warm, stylish, and water-resistant.

One of my favorite purchases I’ve made this winter season was, of course, on the dreaded Black Friday.

My sister and I decided that we wanted to participate this year for “anthropological reasons”, you know, to watch all the crazies fight over the last flat screen TV. Which did happen.

a screenshot of a facebook "mupload" of the line at Target on Black Friday. #terrifying

a screenshot of a Facebook “mupload” of the line at Target on Black Friday. #terrifying

But we also wanted to invest in some new clothes for ourselves, especially me who’s going to be graduating and really needs some new, nice clothing that I can wear pretty much anywhere no matter what I’m doing and still look half decent. No easy feat, I know.

What I ended up buying, for like 70% off, was this women’s water resistant zip-up Avanti black coat with gold detailings from J.C. Penny (http://www.jcpenney.com/).

I got this coat, which was originally over $100 back in December, for just $40. (Not only am I outdoorsy and make attempts at fashion, but I’m also very thrifty.)

Black Women’s Avanti Coat.

Find here: http://tinyurl.com/lnwvpgo.

This coat is especially nifty because of the gold hardware, which I think makes it look really unique and and luxurious, as well as the side panels which are actually knit-trim (hard to tell in the image).

The belt adds a slimming, sleek effect while the polyster/spandex material makes it a great, all-weather coat.  It’s easy to layer with, and the pockets can fit rather large wallets and cell phones in them. The zipper is also off-center, making the jacket especially memorable.

THIS, my friends, is the very coat I wore to frolic in the snow last night and today, and it’s also the coat I wore to an interview (where I got the job. Nailed it.) It’s all about the versatility- in lifestyle, and in dress.

Me, in a snowy wonderland wearing my Avanti coat and most excellent furry llama hat.

Take that Winter Storm Pax!

 

Stay safe everyone, and go play in the snow.

Best,

Jenna

Leave a Reply

